Goodbye Hostess – Ode to Devil Dogs

Photo Sep 16, 10 25 26 PMWell, the day has finally come. Never did I think that my favorite snack would be history….forever.

Hostess makes a number of products that are retro 1970’s and deeply associated with childhood, from Twinkies to cream-filled cupcakes, Ho Hos, and Wonder Bread. Unfortunately I just found out that Hostess also owns Drake’s, which makes Ring Dings, Yodels, Coffee Cakes, and Devil Dogs!

Founded in 1930 and based in Irving, Texas, Hostess Brands’ products have included iconic brands such as Hostess®, Wonder®, Nature’s Pride®, Dolly Madison®, Drake’s®, Butternut®, Home Pride® and Merita®. Hostess Brands has approximately 18,500 employees and operates 33 bakeries, 553 distribution centers, approximately 5,500 delivery routes and 527 bakery outlet stores throughout the United States.

The wind down means the closure of 33 bakeries, 565 distribution centers, approximately 5,500 delivery routes, 570 bakery outlet stores and the loss of 18,500 jobs.

I would love to have one more devil dog (I will cheat on my wheat diet for this)! Unfortunately Drake’s is West of the Mississippi, so I’m out of luck!! So Ode to Devil Dogs, that childhood snack that I used to save for last in my lunch bag, that snack that was shipped many times and endured the 3000 mile trip. Thanks to my sister, my grandmother, my brother-in-law, and my college room-mate who all so graciously participated in my ridiculous craving every once in a while.

It’s a very sad day!  What will you miss?

4 thoughts on “Goodbye Hostess – Ode to Devil Dogs

  1. I’ll miss the cupcakes. I always saved the tops for eating last, and ate around the white loops–I know that sounds crazy but that was a childhood thing! I will also miss Ding Dongs–haven’t had those is quite awhile either. Thanks for the post Kim, it brought back many memories!

  2. Pingback: Devil Dogs Update | Kim's What's Up

Leave a comment