Getting to know my natural hair

Photo Jun 14, 6 58 06 PM

My “Natural” hair journey May 22, 2014

I decided to go “all natural”, starting my journey to natural, healthy hair. The decision to go natural was an easy decision. I considered several things before deciding: Cost of keeping my hair straight was getting “ridiculous”. My natural hair was actually pretty long and healthy. I want to establish a natural look that I might like later in life.

I was apprehensive because I don’t really know my natural hair. I don’t how to take care of it, I didn’t know what it would look like, and it’s so different, I’ll be asked about the change constantly.

I’ve been reading a lot, and I’ve learned a lot. So it turns out that my natural hair is very dry . My hair on the natural hair chart is between a 4 b/c. That means it’s kinky, and wavy/zigzag, springy, not real dense, but cotton soft. It shrinks about 50% of its length when it dries. I’m hoping that my hair grows thicker.

Back in 1983 I had a Care Free curly perm. A short Afro. My hair was the healthiest at this time. It grew like crazy! I cut it all the time. I learned from research that Care Free curl moisturizer activator has a high concentration of humectant (glycerin and aloe Vera) as well as protein, and can still be used as a moisturizer with natural hair. It’s very beneficial with dry hair. But humectants have a tendency to attract moisture, which ultimately creates frizz! So it’s something that I have to experiment with. I’ve also been mixing water and Coconut Oil to keep my hair sealed.

These product have worked great so far with twists. Living in California with the dry air, helps to keep the frizzing down. So there’s hope ahead.

3 thoughts on “Getting to know my natural hair

Leave a Reply

