In Honor of My Dad

black-father-and-daughter1 copyThe type of men that women date and have long-term relationships which are directly related to the kind of relationship a girl has with her father. Ever heard that fact? Well it’s true. A dad’s involvement in his daughter’s life is a crucial ingredient in the development of a young woman’s self-esteem, and self-image. Verbal encouragement, being consistently present in her life, being alert and sensitive to her feelings, and taking time to listen to her thoughts and interests all help to increase her confidence and self-worth. He must also value and respect woman.

I was truly blessed to be the daughter of a kind, loving and talented father. Unfortunately he passed away at 62, but he left a significant legacy to our family, and memories that  me and my children will cherish for a lifetime. He left several gifts with his grandchildren. He gave my son the gift of music, both hearing and sight-reading. He gave my daughter her gift of photography and a passion for giving.

Dad was able to hit the golf course before photographing his grandchildren, in the middle of preparing homemade egg rolls in the wok, to the melodious sounds of jazz artist Stan Getz, all while listening and understanding the problems of others.

So this Father’s Day, and every day, I honor my Dad for being there consistently in my life. I thank him for being a great example of a loving husband, and father. I thank him for giving me confidence and self -worth, and for being the significant factor in choosing my husband of 24 years!

Leave a Reply

