Interview with myself

I recently read a blog that I thought was so clever, so I decided to take the idea and run with it.

I thought it might be a good idea to interview myself. It’s a great way of letting readers know a little bit more about. . Me!

Myself: What did you want to be when you grew up?

Me: I loved art. It’s hereditary. There are many great artists in my family. I began drawing when I was in elementary school. I had a natural talent that was enhanced by training from my great-uncle and my cousin. I began painting in high school, and developed a great mentoring relationship with my art teacher, who helped and encouraged me to apply to college majoring in art.

I didn’t know that I would end up as a graphic designer but Rochester Institute of Technology had a great core program that helped me determine what type of art I wanted to do.

Myself: Did you follow your dreams?

Me: I did, more than I ever imagined. I had a great 10 year career at Kodak selling film and plates to the graphic arts industry. I gained extensive knowledge in pre-press and printing (the other side of graphic design), and I worked in marketing for 8 years. I got a very well-rounded background that enabled me to start my own business.

Myself: What do you like most about what you do everyday?

Me: I love the freedom that I have. As a Graphic Designer I’m able to take a project, completely starting from scratch, and use colors, shapes, images, and text, to create visually pleasing marketing collateral that helps promote a business, product, or event. I love the freedom of working with different media from print, web, trade shows, sign media, etc. Lots of opportunity to be creative.

Owning my own design firm has also allowed me the freedom to schedule my time around my family and other activities.

Myself: What advice would you give someone wanting to start their own business?

Me: Be passionate about what you want to do. Be confident that you are good at what you do. Make your family a priority. Make time to operate your business, and connect with your community.

Myself: If you had a plane ticket to go anywhere you wanted to right now, where would you go?

Me: Italy
Jump on the bandwagon and interview yourself for your blog. What kind of questions would you ask yourself?

Leave a Reply

