Wheat-free vs. Gluten-free

Giving up wheat was a pretty drastic decision on my part, but being free of digestive pain for the past 3 weeks has been wonderful. I have found a few alternatives to some products that taste good, and I was able to add back into my diet. One of them is pasta. I haven’t been able to find pasta without “wheat” only, but I found pasta that is wheat free, gluten-free, and dairy free. It’s made of corn and rice. It was actually very good. It’s not as grainy and floury tasting as regular pasta. Normally pasta leaves me feeling full, but this pasta is very light. The rest of my family agreed that they couldn’t tell the difference, and my son is the pickiest food critic I know.

I found Heartland pasta at Wal-Mart! Surprisingly Wal-Mart has quite a few wheat free and gluten-free products on the shelf. In fact, Wal-Mart Neighborhood Market has a whole Gluten Free section.

I also added Pumpernickel Bread to my diet. It must be made with 100% rye (not enriched flour). I’ve always loved Pumpernickel bread, so I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered that I could enjoy it again. Whole Foods Market carries Mestemacher brand, both Pumpernickel and Rye bread made with 100% Rye.

All of this “free” ingredient stuff can get pretty complicated, so here are some simple explanations regarding wheat and gluten that might help.

“Gluten-free” has recently become a big marketing trend – some call it a fad, while those with gluten intolerance are thankful for the widespread options. Many grocery stores and restaurants now have gluten-free labels on their food, menus, and store aisles. The phrase wheat-free is also popular, but is not to be confused with gluten-free. Don’t know the difference? Here’s a breakdown:

“Wheat-free” literally means a product contains no wheat (white or whole wheat flour). Foods that often contain wheat are: breads, cookies, pizza, pasta, tortillas, fried food – pretty much all the stuff you feel guilty about after you eat it. It can even be found in certain sauces like soy sauce.

People often avoid consuming wheat because it can cause uncomfortable reactions in the body such as bloating, gas, constipation, skin rashes, allergic reactions, and asthma. For those that have these symptoms, eliminating wheat may result in an improvement within a week.

“Gluten-free” is more extensive than “wheat-free”. Gluten is a protein found in many grains, such as wheat, rye, and barely. It can often sneak into foods that are typically gluten-free – for example, oats are often cross-contaminated with wheat – this is why it is very important to check labels.

People cut gluten out of their diets for numerous reasons. While it is uncommon, some have a condition called Celiac Disease, which is an autoimmune disease – this effects only about 1% of the population. Others are sensitive to gluten and experience gastrointestinal symptoms and skin reactions, similar to those mentioned in the wheat-free section.

Alternatives: There are many delicious wheat-free and gluten-free products available at markets and restaurants – more alternatives than would fit on this site! You don’t have to give up sandwiches, pasta dishes, desserts, or even beer (which usually contains barely) – just look for the GF symbol and you’ll be surprised at all the options. If you’re looking for recipes, do a web search for “gluten-free recipe” and you’ll find millions of them.

Do your research. Just because a product is free of wheat or gluten does not mean that it is healthy or that it will help you lose weight – eat processed foods in moderation. It is recommended to consult a doctor if you are unsure whether you should or need to eliminate gluten from your diet.

Visit this video to see 10 Reasons to Stop Eating Wheat

Share a comment if you have eliminated wheat or gluten from your diet, and some of the food substitutions you have found that work for you.

Reposted from http://www.greenwala.com/channels/food-healthy-living/blog/9826-The-Difference-Between-Gluten-Free-and-Wheat-Free-Foods


2 thoughts on “Wheat-free vs. Gluten-free

  1. I don’t understand how you can say that gluten is found in Rye and then say that the 100% rye bread is gluten free. What am I missing here??

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s