How I use my iPad

    1. Surf on the Couch. Let’s start with the most obvious use for the iPad. Have you ever been watching TV and wondered where you’d seen a particular actor before? Having IMDB, Wikipedia and the rest of the web at your fingertips from the comfort of your couch can be a wonderful thing
    2. Word Games. I’m not much of a gamer, but I do enjoy word games, so I play Word with Friends, and SpellTower casually to clear my mind. It’s also fun having a social relationship with old friends and family just by playing a simple game.
    3. Blogging. I use my iPad to write articles for my blog. WordPress has a nice app for posting and editing articles. The iPad is great for surfing the net for research and handles photo storage and export through Dropbox nicely.
    4. Say Goodbye to Premium Cable. Have you ever wanted to ditch premium cable? The ability to stream Netflix and Hulu Plus directly to your HDTV via Apple’s Digital AV Adapter means you can replace your premium channels without being forced to watch movies on a smaller screen. And considering the amount of television available on those two services, some people could dump cable completely.How to Connect the iPad to Your TV. I haven’t taken the full plunge yet, but accessing Direct TV on my iPad is a great option right now.

  1. eReader. The ability to read eBooks from Apple’s iBooks, Amazon’s Kindle and Barnes and Noble’s Nook certainly makes the iPad one of the most versatile eReaders on the market. But don’t forget the great newspaper and magazine content. I read Time, and USA Today regularly on my iPad.
  2. Social. Social networking has become a major way of communicating. Email is actually declining. Social Apps such as Twitter, Facebook, and Pinterest are dominating smartphones and tablets. I use my iPad daily to socialize on Facebook and Pinterest.
  3. Recipe Book. The size and portability of the iPad makes it great for any room in the house, including the kitchen. There are tons of great cooking apps, such as recipes from Epicurious , Pepperplate, and Big Oven. You can even manage your gluten sensitivity with apps like Is That Gluten Free?
  4. Photo Album. It’s one thing to carry around a bunch of photos on your iPhone, it is a totally different thing when you can display them on a 9.7″ screen. You can easily store thousands of photographs on the lowest end iPad, and even display them as a slide show. I use the albums to store photos that I’m going to use in blog posting. Dropbox allows you to upload them for later use on other devices, like my computer.
  5. Shopping. I love the iPad for shopping. I use GroceryIQ to keep a list of grocery items I need. It’s so easy to just add items whenever I see that I’m out of something, or to make a quick list right before I go into the store. I check off items right before I check out.Rarely do I forget something. I also shop at Amazon.com.
  6. GPS. A great use for the iPad 3G is as a GPS replacement, which can be especially handy if you don’t have an iPhone or another smart phone working as your GPS. With an Assisted-GPS chip and the ability to hook into Google Maps, the iPad can keep you from ever being lost. I love this.
  7. Music. I actually don’t use my iPad to listen to music very often because it’s not very portable with your ear plugged into it. I use my iPod Nano. I use my iPad to purchase music and I occasionally listen when I’m reading.
  8. Bible. I use my iPad as a bible. I use NIV Bible. It’s online, but also has an option to download it to use offline. It’s quick for looking up scripture, you can highlight and take notes, and see 2 versions of bibles side by side. I also use YouVersion Bible.
  9. Business. The iPad is increasingly being used in the business, especially for those who must conduct their business while on the move. The iPad has significantly changed the way I do business. I check and answer emails, take notes at meetings, do invoicing with Quickbooks, and Paypal, and banking. Between the many different business-related apps in the app store and the ability to hit the web, it is not to hard to find great uses for the iPad in the workplace.The Best Free Productivity Apps.
  10. Computer Replacement. Between its ability to hit Facebook, read Email and browse the web, the iPad can replace the laptop for many people. Apps like Apple’s Pages and Numbers and the ability to hook up a keyboard via Bluetooth makes it a great computer on the go. And now that you can set up an iPad without a PC and use  iCloud to make a back up, the iPad can actually replace the home computer for some.

Leave a Reply

